Minami Minegishi demoted.

Minegishi_minami2012Minami Minegishi has been demoted to Research Student, I just found about this. Maybe it has something to do with this scandal, I don’t know http://www.tokyohive.com/2013/01/shukan-bunshun-reports-akb48s-minegishi-minami-spent-the-night-at-shirahama-alans-place/ . She’s a 1st Generation AKB48 Member, a regular senbatsu basically from the beginning and for reasons I can’t understand she’s always been kinda heavily push. Which is probably the reason she wasn’t fired or suspended, I think she’ll be back to a Team in few months. The only thing I’m worried about is the upcoming Senbatsu election, hopefully by then everything will all be forgiven and forgotten. I could never understand this no dating no boyfriend thing. Personally I couldn’t careless what she did in her personal life, has long as it doesn’t affect her performance in AKB48. Their’s been so many scandals lately, I’m sure they’re will be more. I don’t know if it’s a coincidence or what, it was almost exactly 1 year ago today. That the Nacchan and Yonechan scandal happen. This scandal doesn’t change how I feel about her, she’s one of my favorite members, she’s still one of favorite members.

Here’s a video I don’t know what she’s saying, I don’t understand Japanese. It’s about her apologizing. As for her cutting her hair she said it’s was her decision, bullshit. As this video proves I don’t think it was I think she was giving a choice to leave the group or be humiliated. As this video is from official AKB48 youtube channel!. Video – http://www.youtube.com/user/AKB48?feature=watch .

Edit – The video has been taken down today (Feb.2), because during an AKB48 handshake event. Fans requested it. They took it down faster than they put it up, damn although in was painful to watch. I though she look kinda cute, with her shaved head.

I could say more about this, and what I don’t like. But, I don’t want to offend anyone.

Edit – It’s been a couple hours since I made that post, I’ve been reading what some had to say about it. Agreed or not (Liked or not) , I respect what some had some to say about it. Some say the punisiment was acceptable for the rule she broke, and made some good points. I don’t like it, but there’s alot of things I don’t understand when it somes to other culture. After reading some of other people comments maybe I was wrong about her, not cutting her own hair. Maybe it was her own decision, Look I made a big mistake. I’m punishing myself, please show some compassion. Maybe I don’t really know what the hell I’m writing about, I may not like it or a agree with it. When it comes to other culture, their’s just alot I don’t understand. I may not like it,  but I will and can accept it.

I think the bottom line is as with anything else, and this as nothing to do with culture. It all comes down to money, they have these rules nothing more than to please the watos. And watos will buy anything and everthing if they like that member. Obcourse she would to be free any kind of scandal, like a virgin. For lack of a better word. I have said more than a few times I wish I wasn’t such a big AKB48 fan (I guess I could say this about any female J-Pop Idol group), I just don’t  like some of the things the goes on. I always blame the management it’s not entirely their fault, it’s a business after all.

2 Responses to Minami Minegishi demoted.

  1. Youko says:

    Aaah her hair :O I’m not a big Miichan fan, but I still hate to see her like this… Do you really reconsider what you said about her not choosing herself to cut her hair? ‘Cause it seems a bit unlikely to me she would want that… And it’ll be weird to see her as Kenkyuusei, I hope she’s back soon (at least when senbatsu comes around)

  2. NyNy says:

    Nice post! Not even a fan but when I saw the video pop up, I had to take a look because I have noticed certain AKB members but to shave her hair off in an act of forgiveness to the public does seem extreme from a Western view. I do not believe for one second she shaved her hair off according to her, there must have been some “influence” from her company.

    The demotion is really sad because I heard she is a 1st generation member as well. I heard this AKB member and the EXILE member are getting treated the same by idol fans but obviously with the girl’s video and how in most idol relationships, the girl seems to get the blame and negative treatment more than the male, the attention seems more on her not only in Japan but also in the West. The BBC and the Guardian over here in the UK have picked up on this story since it’s seen as human rights in the West. To be honest it deserves to have international attention and pressure but only if international media do not make assumptions and read up from a translated Japanese article.

Leave a Reply

