JPop Summit Festival July 19-20, 2014. San Francisco, California, USA. Part 2.

I’m finally home.

Let’s start at the beginning. I’m entitled to 5 weeks vacation, back in February when I was choosing which weeks to take. I choose 1 week during the July 5th weekend, because of  Japan Expo in Paris, that was the one I really wanted to go to. And 1 week during the July 19th weekend, I had 2 options for that one. Go to Eastern Canada which eventually became Cuba with a bunch friends or go to Jpop Summit Festival in San Francisco, that all depended on who the guest would be. I think it was late May when they announced “Tokyo Girls’ Style”, would be going there. That’s when I decided I would be going there, tried to convinced my friends to go to San Francisco instead.

Going to San Francisco would be more convenient trip, and cheaper. Going to the Jpop Summit Festival wouldn’t cost me a thing. Got the VIP pass only because of the Meet and Greet with Tokyo Girls’ Style, as for the VIP section it had it’s Pro’s and Con’s. I only took advantage of it twice at Union Square, and during Tokyo Girls’ Style Concert at Japan Town. So I moved the 1 week vacation I pick on July 5th, one week later. So I could do my USA road trip for 2 weeks, which would revolve around San Francisco. Took my time going to San Francisco took scenery route going there, visit “Yellowstone National Park”. Been there before but saw only half of it, this time saw the other half. Anyways I got to San Francisco Friday night made reservation for a motel for 2 nights within 15 minutes walking distance of Japan Town and Union Sqaure.

Jpop Summit Festival – Saturday July 19th.

Got Up at 11:30am. If I knew Tokyo Girls’ Style would have been involved in the Opening Ceremony at 11:00am, I would have gone there earlier. I got to the festival just after 1:00am, went to look for the tent where I could pick up my VIP Pass. It look so easy on the map, it took me a while to find it. Had to go up and down twice to find it, was surprise when they told me I won a Meet and Greet ticket for Tomomi Itano. During this trip I wasn’t able log in to check my email, so I had no way of knowing If I won. I had more than 90 minutes to kill til the Tokyo Girls’ Style Meet and Greet at 3:00pm., so I was going to get something to eat, all the line up for the food tent had atleast an hour line up, so forget about that. So I just killed time at the Peace Plaza, watch the fashion show. I found it a little embarrassing to watch some just tried to be way to cute and childish, after had it was May’n she was just there to promote her concert in San Francisco. Just before she finish they announce she would be performing a few songs at Union Square, instead of just saying Hello. Then it was “Yanakiku” concert I was actually looking forward to this, they didn’t disappoint. They were very entertaining , and alot of fun to watch.

Yanakiku.

Yanakiku.

I wanted to watch Yanakiku entire concert, but I wasn’t to sure where the Tokyo Girls’ Style Meet and Greet tent was so I started to go there abit earlier. It took a while to find it, I got there in time with time to kill. I still could see the Yanakiku performance from where I was. I was near the back of the line up, anyways their was this cutie in front of me. To me she look like a cross between Kana Hanazawa and Misato Nonaka, I had to take a picture of her (Sorry won’t post the picture). I asked first ofcourse, but’s all another story. When it was almost time to Meet Tokyo Girls’ Style, I was………… When I saw them “my jaw just dropped” the outfit they were wearing was really sexy, I was speechless. I think the first thing I did was to take a quick look at Hitomi Arai belly button, hope she didn’t noticed. I had this poster of the group that made them to sign, the Meet and Greet Session was really good it was so personal. It was just you and them in the tent and a few staff members, no one rush you. I was with them for a good minute or more, I tried to look at all the members equally. Every now and then my eyes would always go back Hitomi Arai, I think she notice. She kinda gave me a like flirty look, which made me blush. They sign my poster, abit of little talk on bothsides that didn’t make sense at all, but we all smiled. When it came to getting my photo with them it was kinda funny, the staff member who was taking the picture with my camera was having problems. They (Tokyo Girls’ Style) had to show him how to do it, I guess just me they also wanted a good picture.

Poster that I got autograph.

Poster that I got autograph.

Since I was near the end of the line I had only about 90 minutes to kill til Tomomi Itano, Meet and Greet at 5:00pm., I spent that time at Peace Plaza. Watch Kylee performance who’s Japanese American who’s released several singles and albums in Japan. Who’s currently attending Stanford University, which is very near San Francisco. After her performance it was “The Akabane Vulgars On Strong Bypass”, I Like watching Live Bands. Me being a guitarist not a good one, but I can strum with the best of them. They did a cover version of “House of The Rising Sun” which was amazing.

Kylee.

Kylee.

The Akabane Vulgars On Strong Bypass.

The Akabane Vulgars On Strong Bypass.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then it was off to Tomomi Itano Meet and Greet at 5:00pm, she was about 20 minutes late. Compared to “Tokyo Girls’ Style” her Meet and Greet was a disappointment, it was just she handed you a poster that she autograph in advance. And said “Thanks, For Coming”, that was it. It took no more than 5 seconds, I didn’t really care too much about the autograph, It would have been nice to have a picture taken with her. Still It was nice to see her that close, even though it was just a few seconds.

Poster she autograph in advance.

Poster she autograph in advance.

 

Then it was off to Union Square, which is about maybe 20-30 minutes walk from Japan Town. Stop at the motel I was staying before heading to Union Square to wash up abit. The concert at Union Square started at 6:30pm, the 1st to perform was Una don’t know anything about her. Except she’s a model and a singer, so they say. She perform for about maybe 15 minutes, then it was Daichi next. They call him a human beat boxer, he made instrumental sounds plus a few other stuff. Not really my kind of thing, but he was entertaining and kept the crowd energize. He was also kinda funny, without trying to be. His performance was also about 15 minutes. Then it was Tokyo Girls’ Style, I’m glad I meet them first at the Meet and Greet. If I didn’t I think I would have fainted when they came out, I was really excited watching them perform. They perform for maybe 30 miniutes or more, then Tomomi Itano perform for about 15 minutes after them. The last to Perform was May’n she did 3 songs I think, she wasn’t originally scheduled to perform. So this was a bonus. The concert was 2 hours, but it seem alot less. So before heading back to the motel I went to a pizza place to eat, I was really hungry. Didn’t eat all day. Going back to Tokyo Girls’ Style performance at Union Sqaure, I didn’t notice this til much later on. About 90% of the pictures I took of them and I took alot, was of Hitomi Arai solo or she was the main subject.

Una.

Una.

Diachi.

Diachi.

Hitomi Arai.

Hitomi Arai.

Hitomi Arai.

Hitomi Arai.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sunday July 20th – Jpop Summit Festival.

I had to get up early today, cause Tokyo Girls’ Style Meet and greet on this day was at 10:00am. Your probably thinking how I had 2 tickets for Tokyo Girls’ Style Meet and Greet, well someone came with me just for the ride and keep me company you could say. Anyways before Tokyo Girls’ Style Meet and Greet, Tomomi Itano was doing a sound check or something at the Peace Plaza for her performance there at 11:00am, around the same time as the Meet and Greet. Tokyo Girls’ Style didn’t get to the Meet and Greet tent til around 10:30am. So I was able to see Tomomi Itano rehearsing. During with the Meet and greet with Tokyo Girls’ Style, I gave everyone an equal look this time. Maybe Hitomi Arai a few more looks than the others, I think she notice again she kinda gave me that look. They were all very nice, near the end I got a little crazy and clumsy during the photo session. Everyone had a good laugh so I guess it was OK.

Tomomi Itano rehearsing.

Tomomi Itano rehearsing.

What i got them to sign.

What i got them to sign.

 

 

 

 

 

 

At the Peace Plaza stage Tomomi Itano was the 1st to perform at 11:00am, she perform for about 15 minutes. After her performance she was flying back to Japan, so they say. This was going to be long day cause Tokyo Girls’ Style performance at the Peace Plaza won’t be til 4:00pm. I stayed at the Peace Plaza for a while watch Black Diamond performance at 12:00pm, Then Yuki Furukawa who was there to promote a movie, he grew up in Canada. I though it was kind of funny when they asked him if he’s been to San Francisco, he said it’s his time coming here. And he didn’t even know there was a Japan Town. Then Una perform there for about 30 minutes.

Yuki Furukawa.

Yuki Furukawa.

Una.

Una.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had tickets for a Yuki Furukawa Meet and Greet at 1:30pm, it came with the Tokyo Girls’ Style VIP Pass that I got. I was debating if I should I go, cause it was mostly girls at the line up. I decide to go I needed to kill some time, he was very nice and respectful at the Meet and Greet. Ok now I got about 2 hours to kill, I decide to walk around Japan Town. Looking for something to eat, no can do the line up was just way too long. Then I noticed at Japan Discovery Stage, which I didn’t know was there. That Yanakiku was about to perform so I went there to watch their performance, they perform for about for about 30 minutes. Very entertaining group to watch.

Yanakiku.

Yanakiku.

Yanakiku.

Yanakiku.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I just sat around for about an hour. Then at about 3:30pm, I went back to the Peace Plaza waiting for Tokyo Girls’ Style to perform. Their performance started around 4:00pm, They perform for about 30 minutes or more. I was very excited and energetic for this show, they even got me dancing now and then. After their performnce I left and started my way home.DSC01536 (1440x959)DSC01539 (1440x959)DSC01554 (1440x959)DSC01572 (1440x959)DSC01574 (1440x959)IMG_1631 (1280x853)

6 Responses to JPop Summit Festival July 19-20, 2014. San Francisco, California, USA. Part 2.

  1. Denny Sinnoh says:

    Yes, it would be disappointing not to get more via Tomomi Itano:

    “Still It was nice to see her that close, even though it was just a few seconds.”

    And how did you not instantly burst into f;lames standing that close to Tomo-chin? Was your suit made out of asbestos?

  2. anon says:

    Tomochin being your first Oshi, must have been really exciting see her despite it was just a few seconds. How is she in person like the same we see in videos ???

    • It was a great thrill meeting and seeing her. When I first read she was going there, you couldn’t believe how excited I got. She looks exactly like she does in videos and pictures. If not Prettier.

  3. Ana says:

    Thanks for sharing with us looks you have a lot of fun, and I think is amazing you can meet Tomochin; the person who made you like AKB. I hope someday you can meet Kojiharu.

    By the way this kind of events are well received by people there, I have the impression not too many people like Jpop.

    • I sure did have alot of fun, If I didn’t take notice of Tomochin way back then. Who knows what would have happen So I’m very Thankful of her. Either way I think I would still be a really big fan of JPop in gerenal probably even more. I was already into JPop in a big way for a good 2 week when I first notice her.
      The day I meet Haruna Kojima is the day my life will be complete.
      As for North Americans I think their’s that sterotype thing about Jpop (or Idol groups in general), I think for most it’s just to tacky, chessy and cute. I really don’t know why, none of my friends are into it and I don’t know anyone that listens to JPop. I have a few friends that say they do, but what they mean is KPop (which I also like alot). They don’t really promote JPop outside of Japan or do a good job of it, like Kpop. I’m with you I get that impression too about JPop atleast in North America. Liking Anime doesn’t equal to liking Jpop. I go Anime conventions if their’s a good musical guest, alot of people go there. They just like to cosplay or are into anime a big majority don’t even know anything about JPop. I really don’t know the answer to that. This is just opinion.
      As for the JPop Summit Festival in San Francisco yes it was very crowded alot people, if you ask me almost all of them where there for the food, not the music. That was a bonus which made if more fun, fot them. I guess.
      I try my best to promote JPop.

Leave a Reply

